Srpska List to vote demarcation next week

Kosovo First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Behgjet Pacolli, said that Serbian MPs are expected to vote ratification of the Agreement on border demarcation with Montenegro.


“Srpska List MPs will vote the demarcation agreement after 5 March,” FM Pacolli told online media Telegrafi. He said that Kosovo Serb MPs will vote the disputed agreement on border demarcation with Montenegro after the Assembly failed on Wednesday to ratify this international agreement. Political parties representing Albanians in Kosovo Parliament have reached a consensus on voting the demarcation but the vote of Serbian MPs is crucial to pass the law on demarcation, which is one of the last criteria for Kosovo to get visa liberalisation. Srpska List MPs have boycotted Wednesday’s session of Parliament with media speculating that Serbian MPs are conditioning their vote on demarcation with establishment of the Association of Serb-majority Municipalities. Media on Thursday reported that Pacolli has reached a secret agreement with Srpska MPs to vote the demarcation agreement only after mayoral elections in Belgrade set to be held on Sunday. But he publically denied these reports stating that he only announced that Srpska will not vote the demarcation on 28 February. Srpska MPs are under direct control of the Serbian Persident Aleksandar Vucic, who reportedly has ordered them not to vote the demarcation fearing that this might be interpreted by his political opponents as cooperation with Kosovo authorities reflecting election results in Belgrade. Srpska List is part of the government coalition is represented with 10 seats in Kosovo Parliament. According to Telegrafi Srpska List is not willing to comment Pacolli’s statements.  


Latest news